Cryocourse 2021

Advanced European School on


Chichilianne & Grenoble, France

20 – 28 September 2021


Cryocourse is the European intensive training course on cryophysics and cryogenic techniques. Initiated in 2002, it aims at providing lectures and hands-on classes in the area of low temperature science and technology. The courses are open to PhD students, post-docs, young technicians and engineers from all European laboratories with an interest in cryogenics, from about a Kelvin down to below a millikelvin.

Cryocourse is supported by European and national fundings (see our sponsors), and organised by the European Microkelvin Platform. The list of all previous lectures can be found on the main page of Cryocourse.

The goal of this European School is to give young researchers an excellent opportunity to learn about fundamental and industrial issues in Cryogenics from experts in the field. There will be ample time for discussion, plus poster sessions were the attendees will be able to present their own research interests.

The courses are split in two parts: a theoretical session held in the Alps, at the Château de Passières in Chichilianne. Then a « hands-on » session in Grenoble, at the Institut Néel – CNRS laboratory.

This 2021 session of Cryocourse is the first edition in hybrid format: the theoretical lectures are also retransmitted on-line, for our « on-line participants ».



  1. Basics of cryogenics
  2. Physics at low and very-low temperatures
  3. Cryogenic techniques down to millikelvin temperatures
  4. Superconductivity, superfluidity
  5. Detectors, quantum technologies
  6. Hands-on in the laboratory

International committee

Coordinator: Christian Enss, Heidelberg

S. Bühler-Paschen, Vienna
E. Collin, Grenoble
G.R.P. Pickett, Lancaster
P. Skyba, Kosice
H. Suderow, Madrid
J. Tuoriniemi, Helsinki

Local Organizing committee

E. Collin, Institut Néel CNRS
A. Fefferman, Institut Néel CNRS
H. Godfrin, Institut Néel CNRS
G. Donnier-Valentin, Institut Néel CNRS
S. Triqueneaux, Institut Néel CNRS
T. Fournier, Institut Néel CNRS
E. Mendez, Institut Néel CNRS
I. Golokolenov, Institut Néel CNRS
B. Alperin, Institut Néel CNRS